Canvas version history
Version history allows you to view and access Canvas analytics and the user journeys for any previous version of your Canvas.
Referencing your Canvas version history can be especially helpful to maintain a record of the evolution of a Canvas. For example, if you make a largescale change, you can reference previous Canvas versions to better understand how your workflows have progressed.
To create a new version, click Update Canvas. This allows you to make changes without overwriting the Canvas’s previous setup. When a new Canvas version is created, the users already in the Canvas will progress through the workflow of the new version. Users entering the Canvas will also enter the new version.
To access the version history, navigate to your Canvas details at the top of your Canvas and select # Versions. Here, you have access to the Version history sidebar. Select any of the Canvas versions in the sidebar to view and compare Canvas details. To toggle between the Canvas analytics and the Canvas setup, click View Analytics or View Canvas at the bottom toolbar.
Canvases listed under Version history are view-only.
To view a list of the changes made to a version while it was active, select View Changes in the version history sidebar. You can also view all changes associated with a version in the Canvas changelog.
Note that if you didn’t make any edits between launching a Canvas and creating a second version, no changes will appear in See Changes for the first version of the Canvas.
As your version history count increases, you can also rename each version in the sidebar to stay organized. By default, version names are generated as a number based on how many versions have been previously created. If you rename a version while it is no longer active, this will appear in the Canvas changelog, but not the version’s changelog within the version history view.
You can create up to 10 versions per Canvas. If you reach this limit, you can discard a version to make space for a new one. Note that versions are discarded upon clicking Discard, not when you update the Canvas. Discarding a version is reflected in the overall Canvas changelog, not a specific version’s changelog.
If you discard a version, the Canvas setup will be lost immediately, but the analytics associated with the discarded version will be retained.
Within version history, you can view Canvas-level and steps-level analytics. In the Canvas version view, the data will populate for the entire date range, not just the date range of that version. However, at the step level, analytics will only be shown for steps that existed while that version was active. These analytics will populate using calendar days that correspond to your company’s timezone, so the analytics will not be specific to the exact time of day when the version was created.